About us

About us

From Metz to Dresden

The import of saffron and other spices belongs to a long tradition in our family. My Great-Grandfather, Johann Weber, ran a “Delicatessen and Spice Merchants” in Metz and my Great-Grandmother continued to run the business after the war near Dresden. My Great-Grandfather collected recipes, for pure pleasure, from North Africa and the Mediterranean on his extensive travels. He brought the necessary ingredients back with him to the Alsace, where he traded them.

Discovering Asia

My passion for saffron came about when I attending cooking courses in Thailand, Arabia, Persia and northern India. It was here that I discovered the versatility of this precious spice. Whilst studying traditional healing methods in the Himalaya region of Nepal and Bhutan, I had the opportunity to acquaint myself with cultivation methods in Kashmir. Here I formed my first contacts with the small holdings that supply me today.

SafranContor today

Today, I import saffron and concentrate on sharing my knowledge of saffron and its many uses. To help do this, there are regularly recipes and menu ideas provided on our recipe page. Feel free to contact me with any questions or suggestions you have: info@safrancontor.de.

Ivo Schilling
Ivo Schilling
SafranContor
 
Nußhof Klipphausen
Our home

Über uns

Über uns

Von Metz nach Dresden

Der Import von Safran und anderen Gewürzen hat in unserer Familie eine lange Tradition. Mein Urgroßvater, Johann Weber, betrieb seinen „Delicatessen und Specereien Handel“ in Metz und meine Urgroßmutter Helene führte das Geschäft nach dem Krieg in der Nähe von Dresden weiter. Auf seinen ausgedehnten Reisen hat mein Urgroßvater aus purer Freude am Genuss Rezepte aus Nordafrika und dem Mittelmeerraum gesammelt und dann die dazu notwendigen Ingredienzien mit ins Elsass gebracht und dort gehandelt.

Entdeckung in Asien

Meine Passion für Safran entstand in den letzten Jahren beim Besuch von Kochschulen in Thailand, Arabien, Persien und im nördlichen Indien. Erst hier erschloss sich mir die Vielfältigkeit dieses edlen Gewürzes. Während des Studiums traditioneller Heilmethoden im Himalaja-Gebiet von Nepal und Bhutan, hatte ich Gelegenheit, die Anbaumethoden in Kaschmir kennenzulernen. Hier entstanden auch die ersten Kontakte zu den mich heute beliefernden Kleinbauern.

SafranContor heute

Heute importiere ich Safran und konzentriere mich auf die Veröffentlichung von Wissen um und über Safran sowie dessen Verwendungsmöglichkeiten. Hierzu gibt es beim SafranContor regelmäßig Rezept- und Menüanregungen auf unserer Rezepteseite. Gerne stehe ich Ihnen für Ihre Fragen und Anregungen zur Verfügung: info@safrancontor.de.

Ivo Schilling
Ivo Schilling
SafranContor
 
Nußhof Klipphausen
Hier sind wir zu Hause